History of LDF scripts, retains 99 seats in power; View the full list of winners

In a stunning electoral victory, the ruling CPI (M) -led Left Democratic Front (LDF) returned to power in Kerala by winning 99 of 140 seats, beating the trend of more than four decades from the arrival Communists and the Congress-led UDF in power alternately, PTI reported.

While the UDF opposition had to be content with 41 others and the BJP drew a blank, PTI reported. The results dealt a blow to the UDF opposition, which hoped to come to power, and it could only win 41 seats as the BJP had to relinquish even the isolated seat – Nemom – it captured in the 2016 election. .

Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan won by a whopping 50,123 votes. His cabinet colleagues – KK Shailaja, MM Mani, AC Moideen, KadakampallySurendran, Kadannappally Ramachandran, K Krishnankutty, TP Ramakrishnan and K Chandrasekharan were among the winners.

Health Minister Shailaja, who was praised around the world for her effective response to the first wave of the COVID-19 pandemic, beat her opponent by a record margin of 60,963 votes.

However, in a setback, Fisheries Minister J Mercykutty Amma lost to PC Vishnunath (Congress) in Kundara.

The big winners of the UDF camp were the leader of the opposition Ramesh Chennithala, the former chief minister Oommen Chandy, the former minister Anoop Jacob, the deputy Muneer and KK Rema, the leader of the revolutionary Marxist party supported by forehead.

Among the big losers were former Union Minister KJ Alphons, “ Metroman ” E Sreedharan, BJP State President K Surendran, Kummanam Rajashekharan, MP and actor Rajya Sabha Suresh Gopi, MV Shreyams Kumar , K Muraleedharan, VT Balaram, Padmaja Venugopal, KM Shaji, and former DGP Jacob Thomas.

Sreedharan, who was lined up by Palakkad’s BJP, was defeated by Youth Congress President Shafi Parambil, for whom the victory was doubly sweet as it was a treble of victories.

Eighty-eight-year-old Sreedharan held onto the lead throughout, but luck ultimately did not favor him as his dream of sailing to the state assembly did not materialize.

Here is the full list of winners in Kerala:

Click here for the full list of winners.

Source link

About Joetta Becker

Check Also

India’s Covid-19 crisis shakes Modi’s image of strength

NEW DELHI – Its Covid-19 working group has not met for months. Its health minister …